Today, Texas Governor Rick Perry signed into a law several prolife provisions, including abortion clinic regulations and their version of the Pain-Capable Unborn Child Protection Act, which bans abortion after 20 weeks based on the fact that unborn children at that stage have the capacity to feel pain. Pro-abortion demonstrators vocally demanded painful late-term abortion procedures remain legal in Texas.
Texas joins 12 other states which have passed bans on abortion after 20 weeks, citing disputed research that a fetus feels pain by that stage. North Dakota and Arkansas have gone further, banning abortion as early as six and 12 weeks respectively.
The current limit for abortions in Texas is 26 weeks.
Texas is also requiring all abortion facilities to meet the same standards as outpatient surgery centers by September 2014, and forcing doctors performing abortions to have the right to admit a patient to a hospital within 30 miles of a clinic.